• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] after WIFI enabled - no access
#1
hello,
since i enabled WIFI as Access Point, i cant connect to the netPI.
First (after enabled wifi), i just couldnt connect per LAN but Wifi worked (for a short time) but as soon as i tried to disable wifi - connection got lost and i was not able to reconnect (i'm still able to connect to the wifi but i cannot access gateway manager) .
The wifi connection says limited access and i get ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT when trying to access the manager.

I hope there's a way to fix it without loading a new system image..

best regards,

Paul
  Reply
#2
(August-30th-2018, 12:28 PM)paubau Wrote: hello,
since i enabled WIFI as Access Point, i cant connect to the netPI.
First (after enabled wifi), i just couldnt connect per LAN but Wifi worked (for a short time) but as soon as i tried to disable wifi - connection got lost and i was not able to reconnect (i'm still able to connect to the wifi but i cannot access gateway manager) .
The wifi connection says limited access and i get ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT when trying to access the manager.

I hope there's a way to fix it without loading a new system image..

best regards,

Paul

So does that mean that now you neither can connect to your netPI via LAN interface nor Wifi?
You never fail until you stop trying.“, Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

  Reply
#3
Yes thats the current status..
Well i can CONNECT to the wifi, but the connection is limited

I recognized that i can see the netpi through TIA Portal (connected with s7 1500) but i cant ping or anything..

Im not an it spezialist so i really dont know what to do

**i am able to ping the fieldbus connection..
  Reply
#4
Well basically if you enable Wifi and you set for example the same IP address ranges like they exits for the LAN interface, or you removed the gateway address in the LAN settings or or or ... because of Wifi now enabled and then you disable Wifi again then some previous default parameters for your LAN settings have been maybe removed .... that can lead to the Linux system not to know any longer where to route the Ethernet packages to.

Back to your last LAN settings that worked: Did you use DHCP or static IP settings?
You never fail until you stop trying.“, Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

  Reply
#5
(August-30th-2018, 12:51 PM)Armin@netPI Wrote: Well basically if you enable Wifi and you set for example the same IP address ranges like they exits for the LAN interface, or you removed the gateway address in the LAN settings or or or ... because of Wifi now enabled and then you disable Wifi again then some previous default parameters for your LAN settings have been maybe removed .... that can lead to the Linux system not to know any longer where to route the Ethernet packages to.

Back to your last LAN settings that worked:  Did you use DHCP or static IP settings?

Hm i set another ipadress for wifi but the dhcp ip range propably is wrong.. 
buut i didnt changed a thing in the LAN settings and although i tried to disabled wifi - its still there and i can connect to it.

I used DHCP settings.. used static settings for a short time before but changed it back to DHCP

when i try to connect via mobilephone, it says ip address could not be retrieved
  Reply
#6
Well setting a different IP address on Wifi Access point is obligatory, else you get a mismatch anyway.

So you say you didn't change anything in your LAN setting, so then it is running as DHCP client still waiting to receive an IP address from your DHCP server, right? ... because this is the default setting.

What you can do is connecting monitor to the HDMI port of netPI maybe giving you a log output about a misconfiguration.

But independent of what I have heard now, I have doubts that you get your netPI recovered without loading a new image to it. If there is no contact via no interfaces then all the contact to the system is gone.

Have you made a copy of your container, on Docker Hub for example with a free account? In this case it is no problem. It is just setting the LAN params again and reloading the container.

Regards
Armin
You never fail until you stop trying.“, Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

  Reply
#7
Sadly i only did local backups, i will change that in future and wont touch wifi settings again lol

But thank you anyway!
  Reply
#8
Yes please do so. The strongest argument of Docker indeed is having just distributed devices like netPI around the world and a central place from where to all those units the software is deployed from.

I recommend to use a normal raspberry Pi as a local backup station. I personally have a Linux PC where I installed a registry onto.

Regards
Armin
You never fail until you stop trying.“, Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

  Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  How to access netPI? firefly 6 38 May-16th-2019, 02:31 AM
Last Post: firefly
  Wi-Fi access problem MGharat 3 11 March-12th-2019, 09:27 AM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  access to netPI MGharat 2 19 March-7th-2019, 07:16 AM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  [SOLVED] Access problems Azzamjj 8 170 January-25th-2019, 07:43 AM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  Errormessage when trying to connect to wifi. BFH_SAM2 11 380 September-24th-2018, 12:52 PM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  Remote Access Jonas.Sellmann@outlook.de 12 455 September-20th-2018, 10:20 AM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  Resart/Access NetPi from Remote Jonas.Sellmann@outlook.de 11 391 August-1st-2018, 11:06 AM
Last Post: Jonas.Sellmann@outlook.de
  Access Denied to LED1 / LED2 crthomas1234 1 104 July-12th-2018, 04:36 PM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  usage as WLAN access point with hostapd FrankJacob 1 104 July-6th-2018, 10:34 AM
Last Post: Armin@netPI
  DHCP/DNS issue: Couldn't access NetPI3 out-of-the-box zulliger@software-natives.ch 5 181 March-14th-2018, 06:47 PM
Last Post: adeeljsid

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)