• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED]SD card writing speed
I have two netPIs, and their writing speed seems to be different.

To measure speed on same condition, I re-installed firmware(V1.2.2.0) and deployed a container from the same image (hilscher/netpi-raspbian) on each netPI, however, the writing speed is different. One is about 13MB/s and the other is 18MB/s.
(I tested the writing speed with the command "dd if=/dev/zero of=benchmark bs=380k count=1k conv=fdatasync")

I want to know about this writing speed difference.
Could you answer the following questions?

1. Is there any ways to check SD card conditions?
    Since I am a beginner of Docker and Linux, I could not find the way to check SD card conditions. Is there any commands to check it?
    (I could not find proper way to use badblocks command)

2. Is this SD card endurance problem?
    I suppose that this is SD card endurance problem.

Could you tell me any other factors that may cause this difference?

3. In the case of SD card endurance problem, is there any way to deal with it?

4. If this is not the case of SD card endurance problem, is there any way to deal with it?

5. Could you tell me the write speed on factory-sealed condition?
    The faster netPI is not so new. I want to know if the faster one is already deteriorated or not.

It is hard to answer I guess, however, if you have any ideas about my questions, please let me know.

Best regards,
Hello there,

if you tell me both MAC addresses of your two netPI devices then I can tell you which type of SD card is used in your netPIs.

Since mid of year 2019 we are only assemble an SD card of SANDISK. This is a very fast SD card. Since then we did not change the SD card any more. The new card is colored white and the old cards are colored black.