• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using MariaDB on NetPi
Hello,

I have only recently received our Netpi and we would like to start testing our product. Please forgive me as I am quite new to docker. 

I currently have a python program that runs on my PC that records information and saves it in a MariaDB database and is replicated on Azure cloud services. How do I go about getting this to run on a Rasp Pi or Netpi. 

The steps I have completed so far on Rasp Pi.

I have installed Raspbian Buster from image as per instructions on [/url][url=https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/installation/installing-images/]RaspberryPi.

Completed: 

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get -upgrade

curl -sSL https://get.docker.com | sh

sudo docker pull hilschernetpi/netpi-raspbian

Is this the correct image to be using for development on a rasppi? in the netiot FAQ it suggests using "resin/armv7hf-debian:jessie-20170916" however this is very old and I require debian buster as it allows MariaDB 10.3 to be installed.  Also resin states 'This repository is deprecated'

Once that image is installed what is the correct way to create a container?

On the NetPi,

I have followed the instruction video on creating the first container using raspbian as an example. 

I have the container running and am able to connect through putty.

I completed the following commands inside the container

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get -upgrade
sudo apt-get install mariadb-server

I now have the mariadb server running. How can I access this from outside of the container. How do I link the IP and Port to within the container?

I believe I may have missed a few key points but I can answer anything else as needed.
Hi there,