• 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Connect to PLC without knowing IP
Hello, i'm totally new with this thing.
Got my netPI and a s7-1500 and i'm wondering if there's a way to connect to the S7 without knowing/configuring the accessible ip adress.
I'm working on it with node-red and it works fine, but what to do if i want to get data from multiple PLC's in different networks ?
Not at once but one after the other?

greets,
paul
Dear Paul,

welcome to the netPI forum.

You are using Node-RED is what I have understood. And in Node-RED which node are you using to communicate with your S7-1500 PLC? By default a standard Node-RED has no support for S7-PLCs. So you must have post installed additional nodes, right? Please tell me a little bit about your software constellation..
You never fail until you stop trying.“, Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)

Thanks.
Yes you're right. I am using Node-RED and installed contrib-s7comm .
First of all the 'fieldbus in node', then 's7comm in' and read out the values per debug.
For testing i have set-up a counter in TIA portal and thats it in general.
At the end it should be something like plug&play, connecting the netPI to the PLC and send the data anywhere..
Well now I have understood what your requirements are. Thank you. Let me ask you know if you have programming skills?

I don't know how the contrib-s7comm node is really working, so I don't know if you have to configure the S7-PLC IP address that it shall send data to in a table or if this node can also receive instructions based on node-red input.msg online. In latter case you are a lucky boy cause then you can write a Node-RED flow sending S7 request to multiple S7 at a time if you know the "unknown" S7.