Hilscher Community Forum
netPI PROFINET IO Limitations - Printable Version

+- Hilscher Community Forum (https://forum.hilscher.com)
+-- Forum: netPI 3 - Docker featuring Industrial Raspberry Pi 3 platform (https://forum.hilscher.com/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Software (https://forum.hilscher.com/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: netPI PROFINET IO Limitations (/thread-165.html)



netPI PROFINET IO Limitations - Reimar - June-25th-2018

The example for Profinet defines 10 Byte for input and 4 Byte for output. As I understand this can be increased by editing the electronic data sheets for profinet. What are the actual limits of the card on the NetPi? For my use case I will need at least 256 Bytes input/output. Is this possible?


Answer - Armin@netPI - June-25th-2018

Hello Reimar,

just editing the GSDML-File is NOT enough. This is just the part for setting up the engineering software like Siemens TIA right ... but of course the example code needs to be adapted as well.

Please have a look to the App.h header file and there you find the definition of the application input and output buffers.

The limitation of the number of maximum input and output process data bytes you'll find in the PROFINET API programming manual located in the github project as well.

Thx
Armin


Answer - Reimar - June-26th-2018

Hey Armin,

thanks for your quick response. At first I tested the profinet example as is and it worked. When I update the header file App.h, recompiled the example and start the profinet example I get following error code: Error: 0xC0300133

See attached files.

Where else do I need to change the code to get it up and running with a cycle process input/output data and custom lengths?

Kind regards




Answer - Armin@netPI - June-26th-2018

Well, once again look into the programming manual and search for the exact error code. The explanation you find there is self explaining -> You have to adjust the overall maximum allowed input and output process data length as well. By default it is set to 10.


Answer - Reimar - June-29th-2018

Doh, that was rather obvious. I was only looking in the cifx manual and not the profinet manual as well. Apparently this error code is only documented in the profinet manual. Now the example works with more bytes. Thanks :-)


Answer - Armin@netPI - June-30th-2018

Modified the Profinet source code to auto-adjust the maximum length automatically. Now you just have to change the values in App.h only